MEDIA ADVISORY

December 14, 2016

Hepatitis-C Tainted Blood Victims Fight Ottawa for Solution to $220M Fund Shortfall

Did you have a transfusion before 1986 or after 1990? Interview Opportunity for COURT HEARING on your hepatitis C SETTLEMENT!

Most Canadians thought the tainted blood tragedy had been fully addressed. But there are hundreds of tainted blood victims who are still waiting for the compensation that was promised to them by the Government of Canada. They will be closely following a court hearing taking place December 15 and 16 in Toronto, Ontario. A joint hearing of the courts of Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Québec will consider how to address a $220 million shortfall in the pre-1986/post-1990 Hepatitis-C settlement fund. More than 300 victims part of the settlement will not be paid due to the shortfall.

The Justices of the Courts of Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Québec will be attending the hearing in Toronto, and will be linked by audio/video conference to court rooms in Vancouver, Edmonton and Montréal.

  • Vancouver, British Columbia: Vancouver Law Courts, 800 Smithe St. at 8:00 a.m. PST
  • Edmonton, Alberta: Law Courts, 1A Sir Winston Churchill Square at 9:00 a.m. MST
  • Toronto, Ontario: Superior Court of Justice Courthouse, Room 6-1, 361 University Ave. at 11:00 a.m. EST
  • Montréal, Québec: Montréal Courthouse, 1 Notre Dame St. E. at 11:00 a.m. EST

The following spokespersons are able to provide their views on the matter:

  • Fred Girling, widower of a Hepatitis-C tainted blood victim who has been waiting for promised compensation from the Government of Canada
  • Mike McCarthy, Lead Plaintiff for the pre-1986/post-1990 class action
  • David Klein, Managing Partner of Klein Lawyers LLP on behalf of pre-1986/post-1990 Hepatitis C victims

To arrange an interview, please contact:

Lisa Porteous
Case Manage
Klein Lawyers LLP
Tel: 604.714.6533 (Vancouver)
lporteous@callkleinlawyers.com